Red Summer: The Danger and Madness of Commercial Salmon Fishing in Alaska (Paperback)

Red Summer: The Danger and Madness of Commercial Salmon Fishing in Alaska Cover Image
$16.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Painting a visceral portrait of the life of commercial fishermen in the remote Eskimo village of Egekik, Alaska, this intense memoir depictsthe author's four summers spent with a crew of seasonal salmon netters. Distinguishing itself from a typical adventure, this recollection relates the unforgiving supervision ofthe experiencedfemale crew-chief, who along with her rugged shipmates lives by the credo: do the work or leave. From an encounter with an overly-inquisitive grizzly bear and being swamped by a mother-ship in open waters to the customary run-ins with colorful locals, this record is certain to appeal to adventurers, nature lovers, and armchair travelers alike. In the tradition of Jon Krakauer, Peter Matthiessen, and Sebastien Junger, this is an honest and vivid story of what it means to leave so-called civilization behind for a life full of danger, excitement, untold beauty, and physically grueling work.

About the Author


Bill Carter is a former commercial fisherman and an award-winning documentary filmmaker and photographer. He has written for "Men s Journal," "Outside," "Rolling Stone," and "Spin"""andis the author of" Fools Rush In."" "His documentary film, "Miss Sarajevo," was awarded the International Monitor Award, the Golden Hugo Award, and the Maverick Director Award. He lives in Bisbee, Arizona."
Product Details
ISBN: 9780982433287
ISBN-10: 098243328X
Publisher: Schaffner Press
Publication Date: June 1st, 2010
Pages: 234
Language: English